MLDonkey Forum Index
Homepage •  Bugs •  Tasks •  Patches •  SF.net Project Page •  ChangeLog •  German forum •  Links •  Wiki •  Downloads
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 
Precompiled Linux (Debian Etch) ARM cores binaries-release
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MLDonkey Forum Index -> Alternative platforms
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fabtar
Sage


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 1581
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@dskchk
new cores are being uploaded now..
They are normal-gd cores with mixed configurations..
config patched
config patched+cflags
cflags only
(both native static cores, for sure, striped and unstriped)
_________________
ARM,ARMEL,MIPS,MIPSEL,POWERPC mldonkey cores: http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/


Last edited by fabtar on Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:48 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabtar
Sage


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 1581
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/experimental-cores/3.1.3cvs-armel/

pelase try with and without libs, thanks for helping me in solving this issue.

I think the problems are on the gcc, so, updating ocaml I think it is useless.
The next steps in case of failure.. are

    1)manually add linking options
    2)try bytecode release instead of native ones
    3)update ocaml (desperate)

_________________
ARM,ARMEL,MIPS,MIPSEL,POWERPC mldonkey cores: http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ygrek
professional


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
just for curiosity... time ago I have added in my scripts the --enamble-checks option.


Code:

$ ./configure --help| grep checks
  --enable-checks         enable bounds-checking for array/string accesses


As it says above, it adds some extra bounds checking but it is not really needed because ocaml runtime implements it by default anyway and it is not possible to cause crash with out of bounds access.
_________________
Download | Report bugs | git mirror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dskchk
neophyte


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fabtar wrote:
http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/experimental-cores/3.1.3cvs-armel/

pelase try with and without libs, thanks for helping me in solving this issue.


With mlnet.cflags.static, mlnet.cflags.static.stripe I get the usual error.

With mlnet.patched.static, mlnet.patched.static.striped, mlnet.patched+cflags.static and mlnet.patched+cflags.static.striped, instead, the error is different:

Code:

./mlnet: /lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found (required by ./mlnet)


Please note that I'm not using the libraries. If I try to set the LD_LIBRARY_PATH to the folder containing the libraries, I get the following error:

Code:

./mlnet: error while loading shared libraries: libc.so.6: cannot handle TLS data
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabtar
Sage


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 1581
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your effort!

Another idea is to simply try deleting my bundled libc and use the other bundled libraries.
_________________
ARM,ARMEL,MIPS,MIPSEL,POWERPC mldonkey cores: http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dskchk
neophyte


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fabtar wrote:
Thanks for your effort!

Another idea is to simply try deleting my bundled libc and use the other bundled libraries.


If I simply delete libc.so.6 from your bundled libraries, while keeping all the others, I still get the "version `GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found" error, just like if I were not using any of the supplied libraries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabtar
Sage


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 1581
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn,
I need to think about..
_________________
ARM,ARMEL,MIPS,MIPSEL,POWERPC mldonkey cores: http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dskchk
neophyte


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems like my system doesn't have the correct version of glibc... however, I'm not a C/C++ expert.
I don't know how to check what glibc version my system is using.

On the other hand, shouldn't a static compilation include all the needed libraries in the resulting executable? So, if mlnet were statically compiled, I would expect it to have all the needed libraries binary code in it... am I wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ygrek
professional


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

See, the original problem is in linking glibc statically (at least I think so). So we try to link all libs statically except of libc.
The quoted error now means that your device either doesn't have libstdc++ or it is too old. Please run
Code:
ldd ./mlnet
to see if the library is present. If so we should build against older version of libstdc++ (i.e. using older gcc). That becomes quite complicated. Maybe there is some other way...
_________________
Download | Report bugs | git mirror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ygrek
professional


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, fabtar, please could you include the build logs alongside the cores binaries, so that I could verify that all compiler flags are as expected?
_________________
Download | Report bugs | git mirror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dskchk
neophyte


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ygrek wrote:
See, the original problem is in linking glibc statically (at least I think so). So we try to link all libs statically except of libc.
The quoted error now means that your device either doesn't have libstdc++ or it is too old. Please run
Code:
ldd ./mlnet
to see if the library is present. If so we should build against older version of libstdc++ (i.e. using older gcc). That becomes quite complicated. Maybe there is some other way...


Hi ygrek,
I didn't have the ldd command on my system, so I used the script from http://home.opaopa.org/zaurus/ipkg/ldd
With this script, this is the output:

Code:

./mlnet: /lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.9' not found (required by ./mlnet)
        libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0x4001e000)
        libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0x400c1000)
        libstdc++.so.6 => /lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0x400cc000)
        libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x40191000)
        libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x401a1000)
        libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0x401fa000)
        /lib/ld-linux.so.3 (0x40000000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ygrek
professional


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so the version is too old. If we want to pursue this solution forward there are basically two alternatives - either users upgrade libstdc++ to newer versions (not likely) or we build mldonkey with the oldest possible g++. Not very funny.
_________________
Download | Report bugs | git mirror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dskchk
neophyte


Joined: 19 Feb 2011
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sad

I have version 6.0.3 of libstdc++. Unfortunately, I can't upgrade it, at least without thinking of changing the embedded o.s. on my NAS.

Isn't it possible to compile with the old compiler, the one used for mldonkey 3.0.5 and older? What are the (actual) disadvantages?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ygrek
professional


Joined: 20 Mar 2010
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it is perfectably understandable that embedded device users often don't have an option to upgrade. So we need to compile with old compiler. That's up to fabtar, but I guess it means extra setup steps and may take more time :(
_________________
Download | Report bugs | git mirror
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
fabtar
Sage


Joined: 04 Feb 2004
Posts: 1581
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Weekend is here, I'm looking at this problem, now
_________________
ARM,ARMEL,MIPS,MIPSEL,POWERPC mldonkey cores: http://fabtar.ygrek.org.ua/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    MLDonkey Forum Index -> Alternative platforms All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 20, 21, 22, 23  Next
Page 21 of 23

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Sourceforge.net Logo